Done It!

I've completed the nine weeks of NHS Couch to 5K, walking and running leading up to being able to keep running for 30 minutes. When I started I couldn't do the bit where Sarah Millican told me to run for 60 seconds.

In the first week I didn't think I could go out three times every week and do this mix of walking and jogging, but after I managed the 60 seconds then next week it was bursts of 90 seconds. The walking got less and the running got more until in this final week there were 3 days of a warm-up 5 minute walk followed by a 30 minute run and ending with another 5 minute walk.

At my speed I haven't ran 5K in the 30 minutes but including brisk walking before and after I am covering that distance. the idea of the app is to get you well on the way to that goal.

The man has kept an eye on me from the car, meeting me for a bit of walking to keep his own step count up.

So, at 66 I'm pleased with myself for doing this. I've done my 6K steps every day throughout this time and my monthly average is over 8K steps a day. So now, it's up to me to keep active and when I don't have lodge cleaning to do I'll maybe join the local Park Run.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.