HUMMINGBIRD HAWK MOTH

Latin name: Macroglossum stellatarum.
When I have done a job in the garden I walked uphill and discovered where the hummingbirdhawk sleeps, by chance that is. Not far from the lower Buddleia.
In the afternoon I saw this butterfly visiting the geraniums at the balcony and I could take lots of photos. However, the geraniums don't offer too much nectar, so the butterfly stays awfully short at a flower.
Looking down later I saw two hummingbirdhawksmoths enjoying the Buddleia flowers. I hesitated to walk down, finding the chance to take photos there not so obvious. However I tried and was glad I did that.
I had my camera in the sports modus, and could delete many shots.
One or two I wanted to keep.

Again silly hearts, I asked Piet Hein to look over my shoulders for help.
I possible can give even more tomorrow.
Hearts for soletrader, mambo, Giraffe5, Naturelover, and rosewiles7.

The butterfly is my entry for the Tiny Tuesday Challenge. Huge thanks to osuzanna for hosting this month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.