Steve Kirkham

By SteveKirkham

The Hi Life

It's been seven months since we had to let our Sasha go, but she's still making her presence felt.

She had a night time habit, when she went out for her last loo break before bed she would bark, twice, as though she was letting all the wildlife in the field behind our house know that it was bed time but she was still around. Beloved has heard her do this a couple of times in the last few months.

A while ago, I bit the bullet and moved the sofas so that I could hoover behind and under them. When I moved them I found a few dog biscuits, that Sasha must have pushed underneath and forgotten about. Everywhere got a good doing and was all nice and clean.

Then a couple of weeks ago we bought a new suite so had to take out the old one, and what did I find, three more biscuits, and I know they weren't there when I hoovered.

The other day I was walking through the kitchen to brew up and stood on something. When I looked it was a piece of Hi-Life, one of Sasha's favourite foods.

Now you could accuse us of being dirty so and so's for not cleaning up, but, the kitchen floor has been swept, hoovered, and mopped loads of times in the last seven months. There is no way a piece of Hi-Life was missed.

Nice to know she's still around.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.