Alice in Blipland

By Alicemaylara

Wish Day

My work offers each employee a ‘wish day’ in which we can volunteer for a day with any charity organisation. I’ve always taken up the opportunity and today was 2018’s go.

The Canal and River Trust manages the Leeds to Liverpool canal. Today we were litter picking around Skipton. The good news was that there were hardly any cans, tins or bottles. This is because the local Morrisons store has introduced a cash back scheme for them!

However the new ‘trend’ is metal fishing! Basically fishing out scrap metal from the bottom of the canal (fine) and then ditching it on the canal towpath (not fine!). I’m not sure what goes through these people’s minds....

Litter picking is surprisingly addictive. When I got home my eyes had become ultra aware of anything non natural looking. I filled a massive Aldi bag when walking the dog. I think I’ve found a new hobby!

And That’s Today’s One Through The Looking Glass

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.