'Born to Ride'

Quite a successful day today, a ride, a pass and a treat.
The ride was my Advanced Rider Test with a RoSPA examiner, who was also a police rider instructor and examiner so he knows his business.
The pass was a Silver, which I was very pleased with as this is necessary to do Blood Biking.
The treat was a new buckle I recently bought for a leather belt my Father in Law brought me back from Canada but the tab on the buckle broke some years ago. The buckle is very good, heavy brass and strong, so you can get some good stuff of e-bay.

The test lasts for 3 years then you get free retests with RoSPA. I hope that in 2021 I have studied the 'Roadcraft - The Police Riders Handbook' in more detail as the riding techniques and advice comprise a lot of the questioning at the end. I got there for most of it but he had to drag some of it out of me!
I got the signs etc. right with the exception of one - Blue sign with a large White Arrow going in my direction of travel and a smaller Red Arrow for traffic coming towards me - That wasn't the question.
The question was "What sign is on the other side of the blue sign?" Didn't get that one, kicked myself when he showed me it though!
Another one he said I was the only person to give him the correct, full, answer - No vehicles allowed except cyclists pushing their bicycles.

I now need to find out more about Blood Biking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.