Waxwing

Bohemian waxwings Bombycilla garrulus are one of the most charismatic birds I know. Every year a small number are recorded in northern and eastern Britain, having flown across from Scandinavia. However, in some years there is an 'irruption', when thousands come to the UK, usually as a result of a shortage of food or bad weather further north. There were major irruptions in 2004, 2008 and 2010, and it looks like 2012 is also going to be another outstanding year.

Large numbers have been streaming into the country since the end of October, and although thelargest flocks are to be found in the north and east, they have been recorded as far south-west as the Isles of Scilly. I'd been hearing reports of waxwings in Peterborough for the last week or so, with numbers building from an early sighting of six, to a peak of sixty-eight yesterday, feeding on rowans in the Fengate industrial estate.

We had to go to Halfords today, which is located in Fengate, so I packed my camera just in case they were still around. Alas, there was no sign of them, and all the berries appeared to have been stripped from the nearby trees. Thinking that I'd missed my chance, Pete and I headed to nearby Crown Lakes country park to walk Rosie. There were loads of hawthorn berries there and it looked an attractive foraging area to me.

We got quite excited when we saw movement in the bushes, especially as I thought I heard the distinctive trill of waxwings, but it turned out to be a mixed flock of redwings and fieldfares, which are also present in very large numbers this year.

As we were heading back to the car park I noticed some starling-like birds in the tops of some tall ash trees. A slightly closer view confirmed that they were waxwings. They feed in tight flocks which take part in 'feeding frenzies'. The whole flock may spend a great deal of time at the top of a tall tree, calling loudly, then, as if at a signal, they will descend 'en masse' into a bush full of berries, feed like crazy for a few minutes then all suddenly return to their treetop vantage point. In those few minutes they can completely strip at least part of the bush, sometimes leaving another part of the same bush totally untouched.

There seemed to be about twenty in our flock, and they were easy to photograph while they were keeping watch, like this male. They allowed a relatively close approach, though I could have done with a slightly longer lens, as this has had to be cropped quite a bit. But after two years of searching I've finally managed some waxwing shots - and in sunshine too - so I'm very happy! Now to get some images of them eating berries :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.