Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Veteran

This morning I heard the tell-tale rumble of a very old petrol engine going past the house. I don't know whether it was a rally of some sort, but around ten or twelve veteran cars went down the lane over half an hour or so. I went outside to try and get some shots but because they weren't all together and it was raining I gave up a couple of times and came back in, just in time to hear another one go by! A couple of hours later they all came back but again, not together, so I just managed to catch this shot through the window.

I can usually find out detailed information of cars like this by Googling the number plate but I couldn't find much on this one. I think it's a 1902 Wolseley, and that may or may not be a Mike Macnamara driving it. Certainly, he owned it and may still do, and I found a photo of him driving it in the London to Brighton rally ten years ago which could just be this chap ten years younger. But then again, it might not.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.