A day at the cricket

For many hundreds of years my mum, dad, sister and cousin have spent happy and sunny days at Lords watching cricket. Cricket absolutely not being my thing, I have always politely refused an invite as it seemed a bit of a waste. This year though, there was no getting out of it so today I have spent a day at the cricket.

No actual cricket though. It’s been pissing down all day. But it has been quite a lovely day. We sat in the seats, looked at the wet grass and drank champagne. Then wandered round looking for lunch, went back into the ground, fought for a place at the wheely bins to rest our drinks in (aside from your actual allocated seat, there is not a chair or table in the place and pitifully few sheltered spots). The bin table securement made me v happy. Then a late lunch, bloody starving by that point. And abandoned cricket, a walk through the heaviest rain of the day to a bus handily labelled Victoria.

It has been a great day, I couldn’t tell you if the lack of a single cricket ball being thrown (correct terminology??) has made a difference. Extras that make me laugh available.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.