The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Backblipping

Remember the long days of June when you could go for a walk at 9.30 in the evening and watch the sunset? I'm trying to, as I backblip this on a dark, dreary November evening at 7.30pm. Apologies for yet another backblip, but the days are dreich and most of the daylight hours are spent head down in an office. I'm growing impatient to reach my 730 milestone, and I still have a few images worth sharing from my time out in the summer.

I had forgotten I had taken this one. Over a couple of months in the spring and summer, I watched and blipped this meander developing where the inflow of the River Belah meets the main channel of the River Kent in the estuary off Sandside. Clouds are looming here over the mountains of the southern Lake District. The meander has now long since disappeared, and the channels at this point are much less exciting visually. It was great when it lasted, but it demonstrates the great advantage of the estuary for photography: its dynamism. It is constantly evolving, new features appear, are transformed, and disappear again. Add to that the variation in the tidal cycle and lighting conditions, and there is always something different to photograph - well, apart from on dreich November evenings (though I did do a few night blips of the viaduct last year).

You would have to look carefully in large to spot the birds, but there is at least one oystercatcher in this view.

Thank you to all of you who have taken the trouble to view and comment on my backblips. There may be a few more yet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.