JR4 in the Frame

By joprose

Kindly Light ....

A need for some fresh air sent me out after dark and after rain with the camera.

This old timber-framed farm house is buried amidst the 1930's sprawl of Canterbury's suburban housing. It brought to mind some once familiar words which I now find are from the pen of John Henry Newman,

Lead, kindly Light, amid th'encircling gloom,
lead thou me on!
The night is dark, and I am far from home;
lead thou me on!
Keep thou my feet; I do not ask to see
the distant scene; one step enough for me.

I was not ever thus, nor prayed that thou
shouldst lead me on;
I loved to choose and see my path; but now
lead thou me on!
I loved the garish day, and, spite of fears,
pride ruled my will: remember not past years!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.