Hemaris Thysbe....

...a clearwing hummingbird moth on milkweed.  This is only the second one I've ever seen and it's very different from the first one, which was brown and pink, and a larger size. I had a bit of an adventure in order to get it's photograph too. I thought at first it was a really large bee.  When I stopped to watch it, I realized it was a hummingbird moth, but it had flown too far away for me to get a decent picture. It finally moved to the milkweed, which was in the center of the prairie plants restoration area, so I slowly started making my way through the plants toward the milkweed---not realizing that the center of the area was marshy---& all of a sudden I sank down into water that went well above my ankles......my tennis shoes were totally submerged. I stood there in shock for a moment, then turned to go back the way I'd come. But then I changed my mind & decided I was already wet, I might as well keep going, especially since I rarely see these. In the end I was happy to get several pictures of the moth. Unfortunately I couldn't run to the library and the grocery store until I went back home to get out of my squishy shoes, but it was worth it! :))
Thanks to Anni/BikerBear for hosting FlowerFriday, and to Miranda1008 for hosting wild flower week! Hope you all have a wonderful weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.