Elevated tipi

I really wasn't sure how far I would run, this morning: I have this terrible mental tussle over what I'll let myself do as a minimum but how far I'd like to do so that at the end of the day I'll feel satisfied with my effort. And that's further confused by trying to be sensible about listening to my body, especially when it's hot. 

I knew I'd do a half-marathon but when I got back to the Lock and Quay, I decided to run on to the David Lloyd Centre and then back along the canal, meaning I'd clocked up seventeen miles by the time I reached the bottom of the Minx's road. And then I convinced myself to run out to Booths, adding one last mile, making the eighteen that I really wanted to do. 

After that it was lunch at the new café in Chorley, Lean and Green - v good, would recommend - before the Minx and I headed off to Northumbria. 

One of the differences between us is that that I am very much an impulse buyer, taking a kind of guerrilla approach to shopping, whereas the Minx is a good researcher. She's had her eye on the 'Wild Northumbrian Tipis and Yurts' account on Instagram for some time now and a few weeks ago we booked to stay in what I understood to be some kind of yurt in a tree. 

We had an enjoyable drive up, even if we did do most of it on the M6, although that did at least have the bonus of Tebay services, before arriving at about half-past five. Excitingly, access to our yurt, which was, indeed, up a tree, was via this rope bridge. 

****
-14.0 kgs
0 words
‘A History Of Seven Killings’ by Marlon James

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.