Seeing the Pictured Rocks

For the third straight time...our hiking trip did not go as planned. I'm beginning to think that me and Doug (my walking friend) are cursed.

We were well into our three mile trip to the big water (Lake Superior) when Doug got a little woozy. He had the symptoms of like an altitude sickness, and had to sit down and rest. Against my better judgment, he wanted me and Aaron to go ahead to our camp...drop off our stuff...and then send Aaron back to get him. It is never good to break up your group...but we did, and it worked out fine.

We were supposed to get up this morning and hike 7 miles along the lakeshore to see the best of the Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore, but decided not to test Doug again...so we walked a different 2 miles back to the trailhead.

And...if that wasn't bad enough...when we got back to the car...I retrieved my wallet and cellphone from under the seat, put my wallet in my pants pocket...and left my black phone laying on the black bumper. Oops.

We drove off without it, and after another hour...I discovered I didn't have it. Oops again.

Since we didn't see the best of the Pictured Rocks, we decided to take Aaron on a boat cruise to see them. The tiny white dot under the arch is a sister ship to our boat.

My phone story did have a happy ending. Some kind soul picked it up and turned it into the visitors center, but by then...we were already halfway home. The National Park Service is going to mail it to me. Boneheaded on my part.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.