JoolzFawcett

By JoolzF

Tombs in St John's, Bromsgrove

I was working at home today but had the car, so took the opportunity for a lunchtime walk further from home. I drove into Bromsgrove town centre and did a walk which took me past St John's Parish Church.

I was pleasantly surprised to find the church was open, and spent a few minutes looking around inside.

I was impressed by these alabaster tombs in the Chantry Chapel. The one in the foreground is that of Sir John Talbot of Grafton and his two wives. The one behind that is of Sir Humphrey Stafford and his wife.

John Talbot was a prominent recusant Catholic who was connected by marriage to one of the Gunpowder Plotters. He fell under suspicion of complicity and was arrested but never convicted.

Humphrey Stafford fought at Agincourt with Henry V and was for a while Governor of Calais before inheriting the Earldom of Stafford.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.