Transitoire

By Transitoire

Épuisement

Very productive teaching day today, if completely knackered. Started with two hours of the cinquième INTER, and the introduction to their new book, Tuck Everlasting. Taking half the class, I talked with the students about whether or not they would like to be immortal or how long they would want to live. As I had the boys of the class, they had some absolutely hilarious answers. I asked what they would do if they didn't age, but their wives did...one of the answers was "I would marry my wife but when she got to 30 I would divorce her and get a new one". Brilliant!

I don't know whether or not the boys will enjoy the book as much as the girls might, but hopefully they will find it interesting at least.

My final class of the day (Wednesday is only a half day in school in France) was the troisième INTER, and a rather depressing class to be completely honest. Not the students, the students were lovely, but the subject matter of today. I took half the class and talked with them about Remembrance Day and the British traditions we have...the silence at 11am, the poppies, the Last Post - how Andy had done it this year as every other. I always forget just how much it does affect me, and everyone else. The students were all very interested, and told me how they wished that there was something like this in France. Even in Normandy, where the Second World War is very much remembered, they still don't think it's enough. Quite telling I suppose.

My afternoon was spent trying to catch up on lost sleep/much needed sleep. I don't know what it is about this illness that I'm just over, but everyone I know who has had it is completely exhausted for at least a few days after it. Good news is that I think I may be over the English illness now! Ended my day with a lovely soirée at Chez Paulette with the gorgeous Thomas (pictured), Benjamin, Claire, Caroline, Clémentine , Astrid, Shwetabh and a few others. Wine was 2 euros by the glass, and quite acceptable as well, sometimes I just love living in France! Was great to catch up with everyone, as I hadn't seen some of them since before the holidays so was nice to see what everyone has been getting up to!

Words I have learnt today:-
- Rainbow - arc en ciel
- Ferris wheel - grand roue
- Ice-skating - patin à glace
- Roller-blading - (patin à) roller

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.