madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Pretty In Pink!

A quick wander round my allotment after opening the coop as it started to rain - and continued on and off for most of the day! Everything is loving the rain though and save me the monumental task of watering.I was headache free today so continued my puppy preparation! My kitchen now feels spacious! 
Party Girl and The Angel were going to meet me on the allotment in the eve for a drink - but I suggested cancelling as it would be damp and cold - even though the rain had stopped and the sun appeared! But they said it would be fine and they would bring blankets! When I arrived they were already there supping prosecco! Seems both were escaping their irritating partners! I gave them a tour of my plot and they wondered how I was going to eat all I was growing! The Angel said how about a swop of crops - she has too many apples! Great - the hens love apples!
Over prosecco with the addition of St Germain Elderflower liquor and slices of my plot grown lemon Crystal cucumber, I caught up on all the gossip of the village! Party Girl is now on the committee of the Village Hall and apparently it is in dire straits financially! Complete mismanagement - nothing illegal just stupidity and grandiose ideas, one of which was the installation of a new kitchen and hiking of rental costs - so nobody can afford to use it!! There is a new committee, mostly people I know, so hopefully they will turn things around! We also talked Scientology, bunions, dogs and  mutual acquaintances! Most of it was spent talking to each others outlines  in the pitch dark despite the abundance of stars in the clear sky! My  fairy lights only illuminating the water tank on which they were laid! By 11 we were feeling the cold and they both had children to check on!
 I was approaching my house when to my horror I realised that although I had put away the food for the hens, and given them their evening treat of corn, I had forgotten to go back down and close the coop door! I zoomed straight past my house and back to the plot!  The hens were fast asleep 
and I only disturbed one who had fallen asleep in the doorway! I then went home and put myself to bed! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.