Windmill Garden Centre

We had a morning trip out to the garden centre in the morning as I wanted to look what plants they had before I ventured further afield.  We remembered them starting up this venture, which must be one of the highest garden centres in Yorkshire and when Jimmy was much younger we often visited the wind turbines and the cafe.  Unfortunately it was in a bit of a sorry state.  There was seeding willow herb (Epilobium montanum) all over the place and the tables outside the had cafe had not been cleared.  I did buy a couple of plants which didn’t look as though they’d been in their pots too long and also some compost (which is still in the car).  In the end we settled for lunch at The Travellers Inn when we were almost home - at least we know that the food will be good there. 

I failed to add a new image to my 100 days of art yesterday, though I did make a start on constructing a new collagraph print plate (and failed to make much progress).  For the first time in ages I felt inspired to have a go at printmaking but then, unfortunately, I quickly ran out of steam and inspiration.  I’d seen an idea on Pinterest in the morning that I wanted to explore but I’m now wondering if I might have more success with Lino or woodcut  as I do like the cutting process.  The images were landscape inspired but they had things in common with the `jigsaw’ woodcut prints I was experimenting with a a few years ago.  So back to the drawing board.  It would be good to try and get at least one print project up and running and get rid of the gremlins.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.