Day #14: Art

Postcards. Granny gave me these the other day while cleaning up her old homestead. These postcards were sent by Gramps, who was sent to Seutula Open Work Colony (that operated under Helsinki Open Prison) in June 1971.

At any rate, Gramps was sent to the Colony to expiate his speed penalties and other fines - sending to a colony was quite a usual way to serve a "slighter" sentence in Finland back in the day. However, Gramps's conviction lasted for nine months, at which time he mostly constructed highways and some other roads.

During that time, he used to write home, where his wife and children (including my father) waited for his return. Gramps even drew his postcards by himself, and I think he was a pretty good drawer for a carpenter - the main reason why these cards, in my opinion, do fit today's theme well.

However, I never had the opportunity to personally meet Gramps. He passed away in 1984.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.