Small Places

By PicLocata

A visit to Naboland

Mrs P and I had our annual outing to the Pittenweem Arts Festival. One of the delights of the festival is the chance to see into some of the gardens and houses. This is the garden of one of my festival favourites, Reinhard Behrens.

Much of his work is based on the mythical world of Naboland, inspired by a toy submarine that features in his pictures. This year he had a stunning half-scale antarctic hut, constructed from real objects (please see my extra). To set the scale, the chair in the picture is a child's seat.

I wouldn't normally photograph art works, but I couldn't resist this one. I was encouraged by Reinhard's admirable statement on his website:   "The concept of Naboland, however, is not just meant to be a parallel world of mine that is only accessible to me. Rather, I regard myself as a pioneer into a world that, once documented, becomes a common good and is open to association and interpretation by anyone who looks at my drawings, paintings, prints and installations."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.