The Way I See Things

By JDO

Bubbles

Although I believe that only his very close friends are allowed to call him that.

I spotted this scene in the Bancroft Gardens in Stratford this afternoon while I was walking back to the car after collecting my new glasses. There are two guys who sell these bubble contraptions at weekends and during the school holidays, and there's usually a small crowd of children around them, jumping about and trying to pop the bubbles. I always have to resist the urge to join in.

I keep catching sight of myself in mirrors, and being slightly shocked each time at the appearance of the new glasses. For years I wore narrow oblong frames, which are the ones that best suit my face shape, but over the past few years I've been gradually moving to larger and larger ones, so as to make it easier to look at an enormous computer screen without constantly needing to move my head. This pair fall somewhere between Dame Edna Everage and The Buggles, and right now I feel as though they're wearing me - but I daresay I'll get used to them in time.

I really, really want one of these bubble wands....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.