Black Swallowtail

I started out the AM with the telephoto and wound up with the new macro lens. I think I need to read up on focusing with it. It is very touchy. I had heard somewhere it's better to use manual focus, but I have sooo much trouble deciding what is in focus. The other thing that is hard to get used to is the depth of field - or lack thereof. This is today's post because it is the first macro shot I have actually managed to get in focus. 
Today was a good butterfly day- actually a monarch, a cabbage white , a red spotted purple that was missing a lot of it's posterior wing, and a few skippers. That is the most butterflies I have seen all summer. I think it has been raining too much.
The chippe in extras is the one that lives in the rock wall under the crab apple .I don't think we've ever named him. I'm not sure why he has fur missing on his face though I suspect it is from a tiff with Tarzan (who is very territorial). Hoover has been avoiding the woodpile area - too much food in his zone with the apples in my neighbor's yard, the service berries and pine cones!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.