Surprise

A day of sunshine, grey clouds and a scatter of heavy showers - this evening there was also a gorgeous rainbow. I spent most of the day catching up with lots of niggling tasks, in the hope that I can get out to do some recording tomorrow when it's supposed to be drier. 

In the warm, sunny spells I continued to tidy the garden and plant some of our recent acquisitions. It was too wet to mow the lawn, which has now returned to green and is beginning to grow rather rapidly. While I was out there I noticed several common blue damselflies on the striped reed canary-grass by one of our ponds so went indoors to fetch the camera. The damselflies were being ultra jumpy and I only managed one shot of a rather subtly coloured female - the task was made even more difficult by the gusty wind. 

However, while I was photographing the damselflies a tiny butterfly alighted close by and promptly folded up its wings. Briefly I thought it was one of the female common blues that seem to have been hanging around the garden, but once I was able to see the underside of the wings clearly I realised that it was actually a brown argus, the first time we've ever recorded one in the garden. So it just had to be my blip! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.