Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

River Tweed from Merlindale Bridge

Spend the morning doing the chores as my partner is doing a craft workshop. After grocery delivery I get a cup of coffee, then deal with a second load of washing before doing some quick bike maintenance.

After lunch, I'm on my own. The forecast isn't looking good tomorrow, so I go for an afternoon bike ride (after the dishwasher has finished).  The blips are from my afternoon ride around the Pentland Hills.

I head south to Auchendinny. Just after the Edinburgh bypass, a sign says Midlothian. I turn off the A701 and head down the Brae, and up the top gear road. Its quite breezy, so the climb up to the B6372 is a grind. A couple of cyclists heading down the hill with smiles on their faces. At least at the top, the wind is a side wind. I head over Mount Lothian.

Then it's on to the Fall Toll road. Just after the Gladhouse Reservoir, a sign says Scottish Borders. then its on to the A703, to Eddleston, then the Meldons road to Lyne Station. This bit is all in to the wind, apart from short sections of the A703 is sheltered in places by trees. I'm looking forward to cycling home.

The next part sees me take the B712 south. It follows the River Tweed, but a wee bit higher. The drop is quite steep, so you don't see the river until you pass through Stobo and cross over the river at Crownhead Bridge. I pass Dawyck Botanic Gardens, the road climbs a little up to Drumezlier (silent z), before turning west, dropping down to cross the River Tweed.

I stop to take a photo of the river. The blip shows the River Tweed from the Merlindale Bridge. I am looking south and the river heads north from here.

I continue west to the A701 at Rachan Mill. I am closer to Moffat than Edinburgh. I head north through Calzeat to Broughton. I decide, as it is mid afternoon to take the B7016, a road much less bumpy than the A701 to Biggar. The road climbs and descends as it heads west. Just before the last climb, a sign says South Lansrkshire

Just as the road heads in to Biggar, the Puppet Theatre is on the left. I'll leave that for a future blip. The A702, a busy road, passes right through Biggar, but I only have to pass through the town centre before I turn right, and back on to the B7016 again, heading north west. Its a steep climb up to the plateau that includes Biggar common. Near the top I stop to take Extra, a photo of Tinto Hill. It lies to the west of the River Clyde.

The road twists and turns a little before there's a long descent down to Libberton, over Medwin Water, up a sharp climb, with a little wind assistance, then a shallow descent to Carnwath.

The home stretch sees me follow the A70 NNE back to Edinburgh. Thankfully most of the bumpy bit have been replaced with a proper road surface (in most bits!!!)

The road dips down initially, then it followed by a long climb up to the road signed Tarbrax Village Hall.. On the steeper bits of the A70, I ride along the smooth bit at the edge of the road. Just as I reach the road junction, a whole load of very fast cyclists, obviously in a road race (There's a lead car, and a motorcycle behind, so I am guessing this is the lead group)

I let them zoom off, then have a bit of a banter with the officials at the junction. A sign says West Lothian. The road climbs a little, then dips down to the junction with the B7008, Camilty. The proper riders turn left here, I carry straight on. I've a feeling the chasing group is catching up with me, but I daren't look around.

The home stretch is a climb to pass Auchinoon Hill and Harperrig Reservoir, then descend. Its notlong before the Edinburgh sign appears, just after the road to Kirknewton. Then its back home through Balerno, Currie and Juniper Green, then finally Colinton to Fairmilehead.

A great ride. 113.5km. You can see the ride here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.