Diana_Field Photography

By dianafieldphoto

Waterfall jumping in Dominican Republic.

Okay, this has to be one of the scariest experiences that I have actually forced myself to do... I am scared of deep water and I can't swim. I figured with a helmet and life jacket all would be good. Nope. You still go fully underwater until you bob back up, and if it is really deep/a longer slide then you could be under a while (where I thought I had come up and went to breathe but really I was doing somersaults under water - GREAT.) I had about 3 panic attacks. The first when I got in and realised I can't touch the floor with my feet. We did 6 waterfalls but there are 27 altogether? I will never do this again. It was a challenge - it was not fun. The guides were so great though - encouraging, pulling me along when I couldn't swim upstream and there are steps for the big jumps if you don't want to jump. 


Video of the ordeal here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cJ7ybyCjrr0&index=2&list=PLRnC7ytg9q5_5eOVDPaNuusM8cTTvUJF-

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.