Bought a book!

Another blast from the past - I recently bought a set of 10 Children's Encyclopedia (see my Blip for 6th July) which were the same as the set I had as a young child in about 1948. 
Today I saw this - much older - 1896 - but I remember 'Girls Own' still being available when I was a teenager (it ceased publication in 1956).
I haven't had a chance to look at it in detail yet but a couple of pages are shown as extras. What to wear when bicycling - remember this is still the Victorian era.  A whole article is devoted to  Women and Politics - the first sentence sums it up - women were not expected to know anything about politics - written 22 years before any women were even allowed to vote and certainly not to stand for parliament!
What was that I said about cutting down on books and actually having half a shelf of my bookcase empty? It's not now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.