Saucy

Saucy Sailor

Anchored at granite doorstep
flashy
blue black beak
flaunts
shelled booty
plucked
on deck .


Launched swift to lofty highway
winged
sailor of tree topped air
Nora's
saucy singer
raises
two furling
skyblue sails.




I grew up knowing them as Saucys . Big, raucous skyblue feathered scamps. Nora helped me know them, name them, listen for them. My mother was a trained teacher, but I learned best at my grandmother's knee.

For the Record.
This day came in cold and cloudy, the bleak November cast is slowly moving in. We didn't have a winter last year, so it's hard to know what will come. I think the weather patterns look more normal, seasonally
fitting again .

Next week we'll celebrate Thanksgiving, the days really scramble on with shockingly speed sometimes. To me it was just summer, I guess I'm getting old!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.