Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Stretching!!

Popped down to see our bathroom design people again this morning to sort out a few things, and we were quite relieved to find that it's going to cost an arm and only HALF a leg. Phew!

Popped into the Cairngorm Coffee Company for a flat white, and the man next to us kept looking at Archie, who was standing nicely under the table. Eventually he asked us where we got him - he's keen to get a schnauzer. We referred him to the local breeders, the famous Ralphie - daddy to over 100 puppies, including Bert and Brian next door.

I abandoned ideas of walking through Princes Street Gardens, as the rain came on, so Archie and I came home on the bus. JR went to town to return an item of clothing.

Buses are haywire while the Festival is on - jammed full, late, slow, travelling in twos. At each stop a dozen folk get off, and another dozen folk get on, so it takes ages. Can’t be in a hurry.

It dried up in the afternoon, and was quite warm, so I took Archie up the hill, via a visit to Uncle A. Windy selfies were taken.

I have done 5,525 steps today - many more than yesterday's lazy day. I've arranged to go and see a private physiotherapist who comes highly recommended by a friend. He's worked wonders with her mum's arthritic back. I have a free consultation, where he can decide what, if anything, he can do for me.

I've also been stretching my hamstrings, which is very painful. The doctor yesterday suggested I do Pilates, but this is kind of impossible, as I can’t get down on the floor, or back up, easily. But she told me that stretching my hamstrings is much more important than random exercise. Wish I’d realised this sooner. Six months of the cross trainer just about every day was not the targeted exercise I needed. But I’m on to it now, and must remain positive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.