Today's Special

By Connections

Facing Fear

(Colorado backblip)

I've been afraid of heights all my life.

But thanks to our Road Scholar trip to Colorado, I had the opportunity to be out in the stunning San Juan Mountains in a four-wheel drive vehicle with a dozen other participants on a gorgeous morning.

Phil and I sat in the first row of open-air seats behind the vehicle's cab. I snapped my blip just before I simply had to shut my eyes as our driver, Lee, guided the sturdy vehicle around that unprotected corner...

The extra photos give a sense of the scale of these mountains --  our four-wheel drive vehicle, seen in a relative close-up in one of the photos, looks dwarfed in the other.We were well up over 10,000 feet in elevation at that point; the highest peak we saw was Uncompahgre Peak (14,321 feet / 4,365 meters), the highest summit of the San Juan Mountains.

I'll never forget this amazing experience!

Blip 1963

[We arrived home Saturday night after a long journey and are gradually getting back to "normal" life, slowed by the poor air quality here due to the nearly 600 wildfires in British Columbia. As the proverbial crow flies, the BC border is about 21 miles / 34 km north of Bellingham.]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.