Stuart Robertson

By StuartRobertson

Petit Palais

I started my morning at Petit Palais, which was built for the 1900 Universal Exhibition. Like its neighbour the Grand Palais, on avenue Winston Churchill it became a museum in 1902. Designed by Charles Girault, it is based on a trapezium shape and is made up of four wings around a semi-circular garden bordered by a richly decorated peristyle. The architect achieved a successful blend of traditional and modern architecture which is evident in the natural flow of visitors around the building and in the bold openings he created onto the Champs-Elysées gardens and inner courtyard garden.

I love how Girault has designed the staircases and banisters, with the garlands and swags of wrought iron decoration.

After a coffee I walked by the Ledoyen. This is one of the oldest restaurants in Paris, situated in the square gardens in the eastern part of the of the Champs-Élysées in the 8th arrondissement. Its long history places it on the Champs-Élysées before the street's beautification.

I then headed along Place de la Concorde to Place de la Madeleine, which is where all the gourmets gather. I then made my way to Place Vendome, which is now home to luxury jewellers and designers.

I stumbled on Boco, which is an unusual food establishment. The Ferniot brothers, inspired by their memories of their grandmother's dishes, had the brilliant idea of capturing the recipes of top chefs in preserving jars and now dishes by Anne-Sophie Pic, Frédéric Bau, Christophe Michalak, Philippe Conticini and more are sitting pretty in glass containers (4 to 9 euros). They work variously as lunch boxes, microwaveable meals or dishes to be warmed in a bain-marie. The preservation method offers better texture and flavour than plastic wrapping. All ingredients are foraged or organic, and you can also eat your pot on size or go for an excellent croque monsieur. Today was Beaujolais Nouveau day and how could I refuse at 1 euro a glass. This is a fabulous way to test out the talents of some of France's biggest culinary stars while keeping an eye on your wallet.

I finished my day on the Left Bank.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.