Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Mixed fortunes

I think it would be fair to say I am having a mixed week!

My back is awful! It’s better to keep moving so I went with Sarah and Lizzie to the park yesterday; I soon started to feel lousy so left them eating bacon sandwiches in the cafe and you know how it is when you feel faint you just to need to lie down anywhere available, so I lay on a park bench. After a few minutes I felt a little better but I found I was stuck on the bench and couldn’t get up. I am sure the people playing tennis thought I was drunk at 10 am because in the end I had to roll off the bench into the floor and gradually get up from there. Got back to cafe to find them unconcerned and happily eating - Lizzie was happy as she got my bacon too!

We were due a delivery of a new chest of drawers for Sarah today so yesterday she cleaned out her room, dusted and hoovered while she and I together, taking about 15 attempts as I couldn’t manage to lift, moved the old chest out. Just got a phone call today that the van has broken down and they can’t deliver today, they’ll have to reschedule! Poor Sarah, all her clothes are in piles in the spare room.

BUT - the cases turned up. KLM are actually still texting me to say they’re looking for them but mine and Sarah’s turned up - not at any sort of pre/arranged time of course but luckily we were in.

John’s meanwhile, was delivered to someone in Preston. We didn’t trust KLM as far as we could throw a 747 so he drove across and got it from a forlorn chap who has given up all hope of ever getting his own case back.

So, the traditional naff Christmas decoration is safely in Huddersfield, and is currently being held up by the Statue of Liberty.

We found out that Hertz charged us for an upgrade because they didn’t have the right size car in stock - now refunded. Best Western in Oregon charged us for rooms that had already been prepaid - travel agent is on the case, and instead of refunding us $150 for a very very late check in at one of the hotels, they hotel actually charged us an extra $165. Travel agent also on that case.

I need a lie down.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.