Proud police

Today Ely held its first Pride event. Rumour had it that it was supposed to be Pride for Cambridgeshire more generally, as it's unlikely that other towns will do anything much, and Cambridge itself is surprisingly low key for a place of its size.

I've never been to a Pride event before as I don't really have friends who habitually go, and I feel like enough of an advocate for the LGBT community in daily life. However after some gentle persuasion by my friend Marty, I decided to go along during the daytime and it was a good introduction to a tamer Pride than most. The cider was reasonably priced, the bandstand was variously occupied by a drag queen, a folksy band and some heavy metal rockers, and there was a warm relaxed atmosphere. The emergency services were represented heavily at Pride, not because it was likely to become unruly, but to show their inclusiveness. Which was all very nice.

I was too drunk in the evening to accomplish anything, so I just slumped. And it was pleasant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.