Moments in a minor key

By Dcred

NOT EVEN THE LEAST DISCERNING THIEF WANTS...

When I was thirteen my dreams and aspirations were set on receiving a new bike for my birthday, these were the days when the ‘Chopper’ was all the rage, my friend would be up and down the road doing wheelies, the girls would look at you with that certain glint in their eyes that sort of said ‘hey there handsome, need a pillion’, you were king of the play park and everybody’s friend. I got my bike, red it was, had the small wheel at the front, curvy handle bars....and a bloody big bolt in the middle where you would fold it in two., Russian it was so more Cart than Carrera, Dad, always keen on a bargain, sent for it out of the back pages of the Daily Express, talk about being a let down, I never did get the girl or the respect of my peers, at the end of the day and on looking back over the years I suppose it taught me some of life’s lessons, don’t envy, don’t assume and that the fairer sex can be sometimes as ungrateful as I was at thirteen!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.