Film

By Film

View from the Public hide at Morton Lochs, Tentsmuir, Fife. The water level was low, as that bank in the middle is usually covered.

After a second night at the Falkland youth hostel, paid a visit to the relatively sheltered lochs. Avoided going to some of the favourite coastal sites, such as Fifeness, as the weather was so wild, with gale force winds from the SW.

Most of the ducks were in eclipse, so didn't look their best, and they kept well away. Did have a good view of a Jay. I used to have a key to access two other hides here. One was on the right, and raised up high, overlooking this same lochan. The other was low, and close to the water's edge of another lochan, and this was my favourite, with the ducks usually being really close by, so it gave some excellent views. The fact I didn't have any photos from either of those, leads me to suspect that I'd returned the key. It was great to have, for the year and a bit I was in Dundee - in the late 1970's - but I'd rarely come this way now.

I hadn't realised just how bad the wind was, until on the journey home. I innocently headed on to the Forth Road Bridge, on my little Honda CB250RS motorbike. It's quite small and light, but bigger bikes wouldn't have faired any better. The side winds, with rain, were the worst I'd ever experienced, and I consider that I shouldn't have been allowed on the bridge, nor should the likes of a car with a trailer, that seemed to be wildly waving about behind the car. The combination needing to be driven in the middle of the dual carriageway, to avoid bouncing off barriers. It was good to be clear of that, and fortunately there wasn't a great deal of traffic. I overtook a poor bloke that was trying to walk whilst pushing his scooter. He looked drenched and downhearted, with more than a mile to go.



Ricoh KR-10 : 50mm : ISO 400

Lens: XR Rikenon 50mm f/2
Film: KodaColor II 400 (Colour negative)


[Frame : 26A]

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.