Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Life is changed...

...not taken away. Vita mutatur non tollit

I walked out of my house for the last time today. Three darling, burly movers arrived at 9am and began packing. Ozzie was looking increasingly anxious (as was I!) so I took him with me to meet my Tuesday/Thursday coffee ladies for the last time. We all agreed there would be no good-byes because it wasn't really my last coffee with them.

When I got back to the house the darling guys, fueled by endless bottles of Pepsi and M&M's, were well into their task, and Oilman was taking down the television, the stereo and the computer. Ozzie walked around trying to find a place to lie down. I walked around trying to find a place to sit down. When OilMan suggested that I take Ozzie and go to the farmhouse, I quickly realized that he was right. I should leave. It's a bit like saying goodbye to an old friend--better to get it over with rather than sitting around making conversation. So, as I have done ten thousand times before, I grabbed my purse, put the lead on Ozzie and we walked out the door. I never looked back.

A few minutes ago our Santa Rosa realtor called to say that 885 Wildwood Trail is now officially ours. On to the next chapter....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.