MeriRand & the NW Passage

By randra

Gilberto Gil

In concert! It was and still is an extremely busy week, but this Brazilian fix was just what I needed to make it through to Thanksgiving! Eu trouxe a felicidade e alegria! When I first entered the Byham Theater (because I was late), I was a little saddened that such wonderful music was being performed in a space filled with seats. This music needs dance! But Gilberto and his musicians managed to get the whole theater on their feet and dancing well before the final song. I didn't recognize a lot of the music, but they played Xote das Meninas (<3), Eu só quero um xodó , Three Little Birds (Marley), and No Woman No Cry. Amazing!

I was reprimanded for using a "professional camera" and not having proper clearance (after having taken 145 shots... oops). The theater-worker didn't believe my argument that my D80 wasn't REALLY a professional camera... :D I think this was one of the best concerts I've been to in ages! Adorei!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.