nonsenses & truths

By sloeburn

Puncture

We had a bike in for servicing today - it needed so much doing that it wasn't economically sensible but that's the customer's choice and we are not a commercial organisation.  I thought I'd make a start with the obvious front flat tyre, and took out the inner tube to find this ingenious repair.  It was actually holding air better than one of the patched areas.

Others things on the work stands included a problematic warrantee repair that fortunately left to others more experienced to deal with, and they spent several hours on it including lots of head-scratching.  It turned out that the owner had wrecked the tyre doing skids, changed it but not put the wheel back properly, then ridden it and trashed the wheel.  Then they replaced it with another wheel and cassette with a different number of gears than the original (and so not what the shifter was expecting).  Then they brought it to us, 2.5 months into the 3 month warrantee, to 'fix the gears'.  It turned out that we had a photo of it before it was sold so were able to have slightly less wool pulled over our eyes than was being attempted.

As usual Mark had been moving things around and an old step-through Raleigh had emerged from the junk.  I really don't need another bike.  But on my way home I decided it would be a nice project and I am allowed to have things 'for fun' so have asked if I can buy it off them.  It'll be a few weeks now until I am back so hopefully it will still be there waiting for me then it can be blipped.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.