Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Brown

Not the tidiest of photos but I don't have much luck with dragonflies so I thought I'd share this male Brown Hawker which was one of several that I was stalking around the fringe of Spring Wood this afternoon.

It ended up being a brighter day than forecast, so I was glad I got out to visit some of my favourite local spots that I've been neglecting over the past few weeks.

The big surprise of the day was finding Wall butterflies in places where I haven't seen them before, a good kilometre away from their local hot spot (which is really only a luke warm spot anyway). The ones out now are the second generation so this perhaps indicates that the spring brood was very successful.

Along with the Walls I found Small Heath, Speckled Wood, Holly Blue, Comma, Small Copper and Small, Large and Green-veined White. There was quite a vaiety of hoverflies about too, and I saw Common Darter dragonflies along with the Brown Hawker pictured.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.