Truly Blippin' Marvelous

By JohnEdward

Compact?

My literal mind wanted to make compact a noun - but Kathy doesn't own a powder compact. Looking at the adjectival synonyms suggested by Laurie I saw compressed and immediately thought of the optical compression of long lenses and that meme of an impossibly steep road approaching a bridge. Optical compression of long lenses works particularly well with verticals (an arcade of columns or a row of terraced houses). Curves in roads and railway lines look sharper too. My example isn't the best but I think illustrates the illusion when compared to the extra which was shot at 55mm. Might have worked better if I'd have changed PoV for the wide shot but I think the gentle slope of the landscape provides just enough context to see the difference.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.