1YearInAddis

By 1YearInAddis

Building in Piassa

This is an interesting looking building in the Piassa or Piazza district. This is one of the areas in Addis most influenced by the Italians. I got my shoes shined here, while Anj, and a visiting doc were looking for shoes. Shoeshine boys are another legacy of the Italians, I suppose. At a future post I will write more about them. It seems that shoeshine boy, or man, is a job one step above homeless person, and there are thousands of them on the streets of Addis. I think that many of them are orphans, which I will write about as well, although I think Anj has looked into it on a previous blog. Anyway, they do a good job, and hopefully make enough money to survive.

The shoe store was unique. They were making nice leather shoes right in the shop, and would make to fit your size, or copy a pair of shoes you brought in. I will write down the name of it and post in on a future blog.

It was a coolish day, and seemed to be threatening rain, although never did. I observed in the ER at the local health centre, which was interesting. It seemed well organised and very algorithm, using Ethiopian or WHO guidelines. The health officer staffing the ER was knowledgeable and pleasant. We find it hard to know how family medicine residents will fit in to this system, but have faith that they will. They may be able to become sort of "consultant experts". Anj and Brian attended a staff mtg at the end of the day where they were introduced to some of the over 100 people who work at the health centre. They head out tomorrow to a conference in Victoria Falls. I'm staying to hold the fort.

Aysha has a model UN conference tomorrow in town. Hopefully it goes well. Perhaps I will post on that tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.