Between fen and mountains

By Tickytocky

Le Grand Meulnes

I read this book as a set text for A level French many years ago and re-read it last year. I was very pleased to be able to visit the original school room where the author lived and was educated. It was a lovely museum in this very rural location, definitely la France profonde! It was a lovely museum in that the school rooms and lodgings were exactly as they were in the book, a real time capsule with original school books on the desks that I could flick through and read. I read a section on the First World War in a history book and although there was a mention of the Americans coming to the rescue of France, there was no mention of the British! I am now inspired to read the novel for a third time. I also found the school room nostalgic as my first schooling was in a similar room and I even remember we did out sums on small slates and had to hold them up to show the teacher.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.