It's Grim Up North

By lynnfot

'Show us a moment when you experienced a connection with an animal' - the latest Blip Community challenge.


Gilbert is really into this challenge. Today he found a badger carcass to roll in/on and the image shows my husbands reaction to the smell as he led the dog away from the scene. Sadly we had to share a car with him on the way home.


I have volunteered to mentor A level students who come from families that don't have knowledge of further education or the skills/confidence to discuss, analyse and debate and consequently help their child to make considered choices about university, apprenticeships etc. The aim is to help the young person develop 'thinking' skills. This resonates with me because I didn't have this type of support when I was a child/teenager.


Last night I watched a film about my new friend, Stephen Breuer, who runs the mentoring scheme. Stephen is a holocaust survivor and has spent many years giving talks in local schools about the holocaust. The film Living Through The Holocaust, is very moving and an important reminder as the far right tries to ascend again. It also puts perspective on our day to day lives. I should also say that Stephen is obviously upset and moved when telling his story in the film, but is also the twinkliest, funniest, life affirming 81 year old I've met.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.