just picked (up)

The first of this season's apples - Discoveries and a few Katys. (The ones in the photo are all windfalls). They always used to be ready in time for the Irongray Show - once they won Best Exhibit  and someone asked me what I did to get such lovely apples. I felt a bit of a cheat, because all I did was to go out on the morning of the show and pick the best three apples off the tree! The trees are old, never sprayed and rarely pruned. I can't take any of the credit.

I feel the same about today's Blip..usually I have no end of trouble uploading a photo and the whole process takes up a lot of my time and energy, and that's before I even try to look at other people's journals. This evening, however, it all happened in a trice..

As I've said before, all our internet comes from my phone as a mobile hotspot, since our broadband speeds really are too abysmal to pay for (Phone companies never believe me until they check for themselves). Recently I've had to perch the phone up on a ledge at the top of the house to get even the tiniest signal. Then last week a friend suggested that I get a new phone (I've had mine for over 4 years) as there might be a hardware/software mismatch. I took the plunge and cannot believe the difference it has made. Writing this on the ground floor of the house, not even next to the window. My sleek new 4G phone is bringing the world of the web into our home.

Now to look at all your photos!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.