a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Washing its hands?

Tiny Tuesday:  Hoverfly

The local farmer has been spraying muck on his fields.  No doubt the liquid manure does wonders for the soil.  Unfortunately for us locals the wind is in the wrong direction and there has not been enough rain to wash it in, and - to coin a phrase - it doesn't half pong!  As a result the garden is currently a place to be endured rather than enjoyed :-)

I didn't actually have a peg on my nose when I took this shot of a hoverfly at rest, but I was tempted.  I certainly wasn't going to hang around for long to see if anything more interesting came along that was for sure!  It looks as though the little fly is washing its hands, at one stage it almost looked as though it was knitting but sadly I didn't manage to get a photo of that particular movement.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.