Closed

I woke up today to news that the DeSoto Market has closed for good. It was a retail/restaurant concept in an old warehouse building. It opened three years ago and incubated restaurants. Its biggest restaurant moved out about a month ago and is now in the condo across the street from my apartment.

This is the second business to close in a month in my neighborhood. I am so disappointed. I was going to go to DeSoto on Saturday after the farmers market. Not anymore. I know I should have visited it more, but I always told myself "next time." It never seemed empty, though. It had good weekend crowds, and Thursdays were busy with salsa dancing. I don't know what happened.

I hope businesses stay here. I like this neighborhood. Because of these two closings, I am going to do what I should have done when I first moved in: Next week I am going to eat a meal a day at a local restaurant downtown.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.