On Display

I finally got to view our annual camera club exhibition in Shepshed Library at lunch time. Seen here in position in the library.

I wondered why one of my prints had been moved. I went round to the back and found it, but also discovered that it had been badly damaged. See extra.

I asked the librarian what had happened. A young child had careered into the stand last Saturday and knocked it all down. My print was the only one that was damaged although I still don't quite know how. The customary reaction is to say one hopes that the child was uninjured and that there's no real harm done, but because of things happening in my life at the moment, I was angry/annoyed. Why hadn't the child's parent (he was in the company of his mother it so happened, who had been very apologetic) controlled him?

OK, so I can produce another print, but I deplore the lack of concern and care for things. I mentioned to the librarian that perhaps his mother might think about it if I charged her £100 for the damage. After all, I had spent money travelling to take the photo, spent time processing it and time and money printing  and mounting it.

You should have seen the dirty look I got from another old lady who was passing at the time.

Finally managed to get to see Sue and Kal this afternoon for the first time in about eight weeks. Then spent two and a half hours on my feet peeling and chopping apples that Gill gave me yesterday to cook. One virtuous task completed. I shall transfer the apple mush to freezer bags ready for instant apple crumbles in the winter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.