Screened Out

I took a quick shot out the front door on my way upstairs for the night. I didn't expect the moth to show up very well, but it did - well enough. I was surprised, however, at how little you can see of the street beyond the front porch. Actually, in this picture, you can't see anything except the wimpy LED street light.
The City switched out the old mercury-vapor lights, to both save energy and reduce light pollution, but with mixed results: I like how it is darker outside at night, but it's also more treacherous to navigate the uneven sidewalks. However, if you stand directly under a street light, it's like being under a spotlight.
In person, standing where I was standing in the doorway, you could see the neighboring houses, parked cars, and the street itself. But, the reflective screen gave my phone enough light for the exposure, keeping all you could see in the street from view. Do I have that right?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.