Footloose and fancy free

Not the best image I've taken today ( I had a rather nice russet hillside, Jeremy Irons' Castle and a man winklepicking) but this does sum up my day.  
Cards delivered to Bantry and Ballydehob then a spot of adventuring needed. The weather was good, the colours amazing and I was footloose and fancy free. First stop Kilcoe and a damp wander around the tiny ruined church, then a stride into a very boggy field looking for a holy well - possibly identified though I'm not entirely sure.  On my way home I stopped at  Maulinward. From the tiny meandering road you can glimpse a stone row bobbing enticingly on the horizon. Unfortunately there appears to be no easy way to get to it as there is a river between the road and the field. I put on my wellies and surveyed the situation. The river was fastish but do-able, the banks were very steep. I proceeded. Clinging onto a post, avoiding the electric fence, I staggered and skidded down the bank, almost pulling the post with me. The water came to just below my wellies. I waded across and sloshed onto the otherside. When I looked up I saw a man watching me from a distance. Feck! I approached, he approached and I smiled sweetly and said ' I hope I'm not trespassing!'. As if I would!!! He was delightful ''Ah, not at all, you're grand.' I explained I was looking for the stone row and he nodded and said lots of people from the university were always coming out - I wasn't the only crazy one around. Gerry then told me all he knew about the odd collection of stones, which wasn't a lot for they were very puzzling. The three standing stones do appear to be a stone row but it was the arc of jumbled stones in front that were interesting. The monument has obviously been disturbed but is fascinating. Gerry then informed me of a friend of his who has just found some interesting carvings on a stone and proceeded to ring him up on my behalf!  He was out but I have his number!! Gerry then showed me the way I should have come in, mentioning gently that steep banks and swirling water were not the best route!  He told me I was welcome to come anytime. The way wasn't much easier and involved crossing two small streams, ,climbing over some barbed wire, climbing over a gate, passing some traffic lights and skirting around  a new bridge in the process of being bult. Walking back a friend stopped in her car and demanded to know what on earth I was up to. She knew nothing about stone rows but she knew all about Gerry though. Only in Ireland.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.