Plus ça change...

By SooB

Lain Un-able

We had a lovely day planned today, which almost all came off as intended:

Kids lie in a bit (tick)

Bit of sledging in the back field, with humorous falls on hitting frozen mole hills, but not too many injuries (tick)

Nice warming lunch (tick)

Pretty drive over the snowy hills to blip-friend's house (tick)

Fun time there with cake and chat (tick)

45 minutes digging large heavy German car out of snowy/icy driveway (tick)

Hang on, I don't remember that last one being part of the day's plan... Mr B was a bit 'tired' for the afternoon outing (I'm not saying anything but he seemed to be up quite late with my dad and his whisky collection...) Anyway, that left me driving Mr B's car, which I'm not very used to and which has decidedly rubbish tires. Obviously had I been in my own (also large, heavy and German) car I would have had no trouble at all, but after lots of hay under tires, pushing from a former/occasional blipper (seen above, digging), attempted turning (unwise) and lengthy reversing (also unwise given my inability to do so in anything approaching a straight line) and much digging... it transpires that I shouldn't be allowed to drive on snow.

Anyway, thanks both of you for a nice break, and for all the digging.

(The title, by the way, is a mild pun spurred by a not very amusing Guardian column I just read.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.