Classic Bunny

I think I entered into the partnership like one would with any business transaction, that is in good faith and with fine hopes. It cost me two hundred grand of my inheritance money to get into this highly thought of accountancy practice as a senior partner. I’d already served my apprenticeship of 10 years with literal blood, sweat and tears!

When did I realise something was wrong? Certainly not before I invested my bequeathed dosh. Don’t get me wrong; the renewal package was more than good and since stepping up to partner the dividends had been funding a Caribbean idyllic and a younger model mistress. I lived, of course, with work 24/7, finishing squash and making a call, kissing her breasts then reverting to emails, dinner out with the kids and mixing it with catching up with clients. I couldn’t help myself, I mean the life just led me to excess and I revelled in it! I did wonder when Maisie found out about Tanya whether I was in trouble but she just took it in her stride and took the tennis coach in the same movement. Fair play really.

Yes, all was well until I stumbled, on my seventh anniversary of partnership, across the firms big secret. You would think that most firms do some form of illegal activity, I mean which one of us can say all our clients are on the level?! Come on up and smell the coffee! However dealing with a little cash movement is one thing, but working with a genuine branch of the Mafiosa empire is quite another. I already knew the outriders and realised, as the squalid door was opened wider to me, that the firm had in fact been grooming me to deal with these new levels of illegal activity. I realised too late that I was already in too deep to reject where I now find myself.

So what do I do? If I yelp, I’m a dead man. If I stay on track, I’m wealthy beyond measure and just need to find more schmucks to come along beneath me and hope, really hope, that I’m never caught.

Stick or twist?

Happy Anniversary...

A X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.