Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Nosey Tommy

There was no sign of Tommy for three days at the beginning of the week. When we came home on Sunday there were a few feathers beneath the bird table, a sure sign the Sparrow Hawk had swooped down for one of the wee birds. There would be up to seven Coal Tits at the feeders, but no sign of Tommy. Even when some of his favourite sunflower seeds were held out he did not appear.

Then on Wednesday morning, as I was leaving to go to the shop, he landed on my arm and was keen to take away some seeds that I was still carrying in my pocket. Since then he has never been far away and is becoming even bolder. If a seed is opened he is quite happy to sit on a finger and eat it. Sometimes he will just stand there on your hand or arm looking at you. It would be good to know what he's thinking!

Today Mrs B headed up to Glasgow to do some Christmas shopping, which gave me the opportunity to get into the garage to sand down and varnish the wooden trim on the boat. However, my work was somewhat delayed by constant interruptions from a certain nosey little Tommy Titmouse, who would come into the garage and perch on whatever was handy while watching what I was doing. OK, I did encourage him with more seeds, but it was hard not to admire his bravado and fearless approach to searching out more food!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.